What people are saying about Forgiveness 4 You...                                                             "This is an intelligent, thought-provoking and quietly unnerving work about the corporatization of holy offices. I don’t even think one can call it a satire, which may be the most troubling thing about it." -- Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal                                         "Ann Bauer’s latest is a clever, humorous novel about love, guilt and acceptance." -- Cindy Wolfe Boynton, Star Tribune                                         Click here for more...                                         "Bauer writes with humor and compassion about a business that is both bizarre and entirely all too real." -- Kirkus                                         "An exploration of absolution that manages to be simultaneously irreverent and compassionate." -- Booklist                                         Click here for more...                                         “A poignant and very funny story about the advertising of redemption and, yes, the redemption of advertising." -- Martin Kihn, author and creator of Showtime's House of Lies                                         "Forgiveness 4 You imagines a near future where everything—even grace—can be commodified, but where our better angels still wield surprising power.” -- Christopher Castellani, author of All This Talk of Love                                         Click here for more...
An intriguing sort of moral chicanery underlies Ann Bauer’s novel “Forgiveness 4 You”. This is an intelligent, thought-provoking and quietly unnerving work about the corporatization of holy offices. I don’t even think one can call it a satire, which may be the most troubling thing about it. -- Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal (subscription required)

Humorously, compassionately and cynically, forgiveness becomes a business in this compelling novel, which in many ways asks the reader, “What’s the worst thing you’ve ever done?” -- Cindy Wolfe Boynton, The Minneapolis Star Tribune

Through a series of emails, text transcripts and feverish memos developing “Forgiveness 4 You” as a brand, interspersed with Gabe’s first-person narration, the novel swings between comedy and tragedy, all while meditating on the themes of guilt and forgiveness. Bauer writes with humor and compassion about a business that is both bizarre and entirely all too real and the flawed and ultimately human characters behind it. -- Kirkus

The author of previous novels, including The Forever Marriage (2012), has crafted an exploration of absolution that manages to be simultaneously irreverent and compassionate. Bauer is adept at quickly drawing characters during their impromptu confession sessions with McKenna. The ex-priest himself, lost and lonely, is a moving and relatable example of human frailty. It’s a well-rounded reminder that sometimes the hardest person to forgive is oneself. -- Booklist

“I love all of Ann Bauer's writing, but what makes this book so special is how wonderfully humane it is. It's a rare thing for a story to be so sharp and yet so compassionate, but Forgiveness 4 You manages to send up craven ad execs and make your heart hurt for them at the same time. It might even make you be a little kinder to yourself about your own past transgressions, which speaks to the depth and soul of this brilliant novel.” -- Jessica Grose, author of Sad Desk Salad

Forgiveness 4 You is probing, startlingly honest, and remarkably empathic. Ann Bauer’s scrutiny of hunger for absolution crossing into the fearsome unbounded web, where religion goes online, and advertisers attempt to monetize the process, provides strong answers suffused with compassion. This story is as captivating and strikingly written as it is provocative. I inhaled this novel.” -- Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer’s Daughters, The Comfort of Lies and Accidents of Marriage

“In this engrossing novel, Ann Bauer turns her sharp and empathetic eye on a cast of broken people trying to find meaning in an increasingly cynical world. In the tradition of George Saunders, Forgiveness 4 You imagines a near future where everything—even grace—can be commodified, but where our better angels still wield surprising power.” -- Christopher Castellani, author of All This Talk of Love

“At turns touching, insightful, and deliciously cynical, Forgiveness 4 You is a rare novel, indeed. Its premise is wholly original, and it addresses both profound human struggles and current popular culture with humor and compassion. Terrific for book clubs, it’s sure to spark plenty of laughter and debate.” -- Susan Jane Gilman, bestselling author of Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress and The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street

“A poignant and very funny story about the advertising of redemption and, yes, the redemption of advertising. And like all good ex-Catholic priests, Gabriel McKenna bears a secret in his soul. Amen, I say. Forgiveness 4 You is Graham Greene for the Age of Twitter.” -- Martin Kihn, Author of House of Lies and Bad Dog (A Love Story)

Forgiveness 4 You: A Novel
Available March 17, 2015